8 things not to say to someone of another race

It’s here. The inception of this post was after I was at the nail salon back in May and a non-Asian patron walked in. She asked me where she could get a pedicure without realizing that I was also a fellow patron. I was waiting for my nails to dry. This incident triggered a litany of emotions and recollections of sh!t people to say when they make generalizations based on the color of someone’s skin.

I thought I could address the most common innocent-yet-ignorant things people say without much harm, but I quickly learned from my Caucasian friends that this is a sore topic, especially given all the recent media craze around race. On Houston Moms Blog, I’ve had to take a gentler approach to inspire diversity fluency. Go ahead. Click on through. 🙂

http://houston.citymomsblog.com/connecting-with-someone-of-another-race/

8 things not to say to someone of another race

Growing up as a minority, it’s the conundrum of :: I’m proud of my heritage yet I’m also proud of being an American… but I’m not like everyone else in either category! I am me. It’s important that we do not wipe individuals of their heritage. We need to celebrate diversity while recognizing that there is no “right” definition of an American. At the same time, we don’t know how far removed or how close someone is to their heritage based on the tone of their skin, the texture of their hair, and/or the shape of their eyes. We don’t know unless we ask. And in true American form, we like to be politically correct.

Leave a Reply

